ISRO Chief Dr. K Sivan To Receive Von Karman Award 2020

ISRO chief  Kailasavadivoo Sivan, an Indian space scientist and the chairman of Indian space research organization (ISRO) has been named as 2020 Von Karman Award Recipient by IAA(International Academy of Aeronautics) and it will be conferred in March 2021 in Paris.  From a son of a farmer to one of the most notable space scientist, his journey is impeccable.


Sivan was born in Kanyakumari district of Tamil Nadu state of India. He completed his studies in the stream Aeronuatical engineering. His notable awards include Dr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam Award in 2019 and IEEE Simon ramo award Medal shared with Byrana N.suresh 2020.

He joined ISRO in 1982 to participate on the Polar satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) project. He was appointed as the director of ISRO’s Liquid propulsion Systems Centre on 2 July 2014. Sivan was appointed the chief of ISRO in January 2018 . Under his chairmanship, ISRO launched Chandrayaan 2, the second mission to the moon on July 22, 2019 which made whole India so proud.

Von Karman Award

Von Karman Award was instituted in 1987 in memory of Dr Theodore Von Karman, A great aerospace scientist and Founder and the First President of International Academy of Aeronautics.

Von Karman Award is the highest distinction of the International Academy of Astronautics given annually to recognise outstanding lifetime achievements in any branch of science.

Facebook Comments